Matchday Woman


Home of Women's Soccer:
We analyze, inform, comment and transmit the best of women's sport.


FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

“Citius, Altius, Fortius” (faster, higher, stronger), this was the motto used to describe athletes in Ancient Greece, they never thought it could be applied to women...

Time flies and we have exactly three months to go until the start of the most eagerly awaited tournament in the women's football community: the Women's World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023. During a complete month, from July 20 to August 20, we will be able to enjoy the best football in the world and this world cup will make history in many different aspects.

A World Cup of Unity, Equality, and Many “Firsts”...

It will be the first senior football world cup to be played in Oceania and to make it more special it is under a joint candidature. More surprisingly the countries belong to two different confederations: Australia is member of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC), and New Zealand is part of the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC).

In terms of economic aspects, FIFA communicated that there will be an increase in the prize funds for participating teams. Additionally, for the first time in the history of world cups, Team Base Camps will be established. These will be the ‘home away from home’ for the teams during the tournament which will include lodging and training facilities for the entire delegation.

These are important steps for the female players from increasing economic incentives to a more respectful approach towards their work in giving them spaces for development in adequate facilities. Nevertheless, we continue the conversation surrounding basic needs such as equal conditions for development and equal payment for work; there is still a world of room for improvement.

Australia-New Zealand, the World Cup of Greatness...

This is the first edition where 32 national teams participate. Originally, the women’s world cup began in 1991 with the participation of 12 national teams and only until 2015 did it reach 24 teams.

More matches, more diversity: 25% of the delegations will debut in this world cup. The eight national teams debuting are Haiti, Republic of Ireland, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, Portugal, Vietnam, and Zambia.

The dominance of football from the United States could once again prevail and continue to mark its greatness. Let us remember that the USA arrives as defending champions and, by the way, they will be looking for their fifth star. If this happens, they will become champions for the third consecutive time, something that no other team has achieved, as they are the top winners of the competition.

While several teams are going through generational changes, others are fighting for equal treatment within their federations. Such is the case of France and Spain, two excellent national teams who might become favourites, but their internal situation could have a negative impact on the teams. France changed its coach only four months away from the tournament while in Spain there continues to be great conflict because of the conditions provided to the players by their federation.

Unbeatable Opening Day...

To begin on the right foot, 100,000 fans are expected on the first match of this world cup. The opening match between Australia and the Republic of Ireland was changed from Sydney Stadium to the ANZ Stadium, one of the largest in Australia, due to the great demand for tickets from fans.

On top of that, the other opening match between New Zealand and Norway will be played in Auckland in Eden Park Stadium with a capacity for 45,000 spectators.
Hosts, fans, and delegations are ready. Now all that remains is to wait for the biggest celebration in women's football to begin.

por Elena | @aztecadebronce

[email protected]

Maria Fernanda Franco Luna

Bachelor’s degree in social communication with emphasis in audio visual production from the Pontificia Universidad Javeriana and master’s degree in sports journalism from the Universidad CEU San Pablo (Spain) – MARCA newspaper.

Director and cofounder of Matchday Woman with which she has had the opportunity to cover the Clausura 2022 final of the Liga MX Femenil de Mexico, the Copa América Femenina, and the Liga Femenina de Colombia.

She is currently, sports journalist and the main football narrator for Canal Capital in Bogota.

In July 2022, Maria Fernanda became the first woman ever to narrate a football match on Colombian television when she became part of the Canal Capital team transmitting the Copa América Femenina Colombia 2022.

[email protected]


Master’s degree in Gender from Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León and expert in women’s football analysis, Elena founded Matchday Woman with which she has covered the final matches of the Liga MX Femenil de México of the Clausura 2022 and Apertura 2023.

Additionally, she has covered international tournaments such as the Copa América Femenina Colombia 2022 and the Women’s Revelations Cup 2023.

She currently covers the Monterrey teams Tigres Femenil and Rayadas from the Liga Mexicana for Matchday Woman.